Launch Day Blitz ~ Dark Paradise by Angie Sandro

Dark-Paradise-Launch-Day-BlitzRead on to find an awesome excerpt and my review. Happy Reading!

Dark Paradise cover

This is book #1 in the Dark Paradise Series
 
Published By: Forever Yours (July 1, 2014)
 
Summary via Goodreads:

DARK LEGACY
Mala LaCroix has spent her whole life trying to escape her destiny. As the last in a long line of “witch women,” she rejects the notion of spirits and hoodoo and instead does her best to blend in. But when she finds a dead body floating in the bayou behind her house, Mala taps into powers she never knew she had. She’s haunted by visions of the dead girl, demanding justice and vengeance.

DEADLY SECRETS
Landry Prince has always had a crush on Mala, but when Mala discovers his sister, murdered and marked in some sort of Satanic ritual, he wonders if all the rumors about the LaCroix family are true. Yet after Mala uses her connection to the spirit world to identify his sister’s killer, he starts to form his own bond to her . . . a very physical one. As they move closer to each other and closer to the truth, Mala and Landry must risk everything—their families, their love, and even their lives.

Get your copy here:

About Angie Sandro:

7768076Angie Sandro was born at Whiteman Air Force Base in Missouri. Within six weeks, she began the first of eleven relocations throughout the United States, Spain, and Guam before the age of eighteen. Friends were left behind. The only constants in her life were her family and the books she shipped wherever she went. Traveling the world inspired her imagination and allowed her to create her own imaginary friends. Visits to her father’s family in Louisiana inspired this story. Angie now lives in Northern California with her husband, two children, and an overweight Labrador.

Angie’s SM:




Excerpt:


Landry’s truck sits in the driveway when I stroll out of the house at a quarter to eight in the morning. I’m in such a glorious mood that I don’t bother trying to sneak off without him catching sight of me. It would’ve been easy, I learn upon climbing on the bumper and sticking my head through the truck’s open window. He has the seat pushed back and his legs stretched out kitty corner across the passenger seat. Snores, loud enough to scare a bear, echo through the cab.

I reach in and poke his shoulder a few times. “Wake up, Sleeping Beauty.”

Landry’s thick lashes flutter then open to meet mine. “I’m supposed to be woken with a kiss, not a jab.”

I snort. “I don’t kiss slimy critters. You’re playing double duty as a frog, and I throw them in a frying pan with a little butter and garlic.”

“Oh, so now you’re trying to butter me up?”

The heat of a blush rises. “Saints, boy. You’re fraying my last nerve.” I plant my hands on my hips, toe tapping. “What are you doing here? In case you forgot, I’m mad at you.”

“No you’re not.” He grins and runs his fingers through his thick hair. My breath catches as my brain stutters. I shake my head to dispel the wave of pheromone-induced stupidity that washes over me. My noses twitches. Why does he have to smell so good? Like cinnamon and brown sugar. “Did you forget yester—”

An oily paper bag flies in my direction. I grab it out of the air before it drops to the ground. It’s warm in my hands, and the smell makes my mouth water. “Ooh, cinnamon rolls,” I mumble around the melting mouthful of cinnamon-y goodness. “I love these.”

“I know,” Landry says, throwing open the truck door.


*I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.


My Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars

My Review:

When I first read the summary of this book, I had a good feeling I would love it. I was right. This book was dark and mysterious. I love books with a little supernatural mixed in with the mystery. The concept was interesting and the characters were dynamic. The writing was beautiful and complimented the setting of the book so well.

Mala is the kind of character I love rooting for. Supposedly she comes from a long line of Witch’s and the people around her constantly put her down because of it, despite how true or false those accusations might be. I love how strong minded Mala is, not afraid to speak her mind. She knows exactly what she wants out of life and she refuses to let anyone get in her way.

Landry has had a crush on Mala since he can remember and although he is seen as cocky and a playboy, he can never quite muster up the courage to talk to Mala. When Landry’s sister Lainey is found dead, Landry and Mala finally make a connection. The problem is as soon as he finds out she was murdered on LaCroix property, he immediately suspects Mala. That kinda threw a little wrench in their “relationship”.

I really enjoyed that this book was on the cleaner side of new adult. It really fit well with the story and with the development of their relationship. I really enjoyed all the scenes with Mala and Landry. I thought they were really great together.

I do wish we had gotten more info about Lainey and how she got murdered. We find out who the killer is and his motive for the most part. I wish we had gotten more glimpses of Lainey’s diary, perhaps that would have filled in a few of the missing details about her murderer.

I really enjoyed this book. I am very much looking forward to the next book in this series.I definitely recommend you get yourself a copy of this book.

One thought on “Launch Day Blitz ~ Dark Paradise by Angie Sandro

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday July 2, 2014 | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

