Review: Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

20498423

Title: Threats of Sky and Sea

Author: Jennifer Ellision

Series: Threats of Sky and Sea #1

Source: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Summary via Goodreads:

Sixteen year-old Breena Perdit has spent her life as a barmaid, innocent to her father’s past and happily free from the Elemental gifts that would condemn her to a life in the Egrian King’s army. Until the day that three Elemental soldiers recognize her father as a traitor to the throne and Bree’s father is thrown in jail—along with the secrets from his last mission as the King’s assassin. Secrets that could help the King win a war. Secrets he refuses to share. Desperate to escape before the King’s capricious whims prove her and her father’s downfall, Bree bargains with him: information for their lives. It’s a good trade. And she has faith she’ll get them both out of the King’s grasp with time. But that was before the discovery that she’s the weapon the King’s been waiting for in his war. Now, time is running out. To save her father’s life and understand her own, Bree must unravel the knot of her father’s past before the King takes his life– and uses her to bring a nation to its knees.

My Rating:

5 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I absolutely loved this book. The first thing I noticed about this book was the cover. It is absolutely beautiful and after reading the book it makes perfect sense. The characters were amazing and the story was so beautifully written. The ending was crazy and I can’t wait for the next book to come out.

This is a story about Breena, or Bree as she is sometimes known. She is 16 and working alongside her father as a barmaid. She has no idea that her father has been keeping secrets from her, her entire life, until 3 Elementals, people with powers, show up and recognize him as a traitor to the throne. He is thrown in jail and Bree becomes pretty much a hostage of the King. The king is power hungry and is only missing a certain weapon that is stopping him from gaining more power. Bree is planning to escape and somehow save her father, until it is revealed that she is this weapon the king has been searching for.

It is safe to say that Breena is now one of my favorite characters. She is amazing. She is strong and smart. She is feisty and not afraid to stick up for herself. She was also incredibly sarcastic and made me laugh out loud quite a bit. She knows when to pick her battles, but isn’t afraid to help someone in need.

I really enjoyed the background characters as well. Princess Aleta, a character I was totally prepared to hate, actually turned out to be so much different than I first thought. Tregle was another character I grew to like as the story progressed. Prince Caden was interesting and not at all who I thought he was going to be.

As far as the romance in the book, I think the author did such a good job in that aspect. It was very subtle and I think that suited the story so well. It wasn’t in your face or the focal point in the story. Prince Caden and Breena fit very well together. I enjoyed how it blossomed and I enjoyed them together.

The world building in this story is fantastic. Lots of imagery to make it seem so real. I felt like I could easily picture it in my mind. The writing in this book as a whole was masterful and this story ended up as good as I was hoping it would be.

This book was fantastic and I hope you choose to read it. It is going to be so hard waiting for the next book because I really need to know what happens next.

One thought on “Review: Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday ~ December 9, 2014 | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

