Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ July 18, 2014

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Remember to post your link here.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post your link here.

For today I’m going to use the book I will be starting tonight, Book 2 of the Vampire Academy Series.

Frostbite by Richelle Mead

Frostbite by Richelle Mead

Summary via Goodreads:

It’s winter break at St. Vladimir’s, but Rose is feeling anything but festive. A massive Strigoi attack has put the school on high alert, and now the Academy’s crawling with Guardians–including Rose’s hard-hitting mother, Janine Hathaway. And if handto- hand combat with her mom wasn’t bad enough, Rose’s tutor Dimitri has his eye on someone else, her friend Mason’s got a huge crush on her, and Rose keeps getting stuck in Lissa’s head while she’s making out with her boyfriend, Christian! The Strigoi are closing in, and the Academy’s not taking any risks…. This year, St. Vlad’s annual holiday ski trip is mandatory.

But the glittering winter landscape and the posh Idaho resort only create the illusion of safety. When three friends run away in an offensive move against the deadly Strigoi, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. But heroism rarely comes without a price…

*Beginning:

Things die. But they don’t always stay dead. Believe me, I know.

*Page 56/56%:

Being male and Moroi, they had greater height and weight than I, but I was probably stronger than either one alone. Hoping I could make the most of that, I grabbed each of them by the arm, pulled them toward me, and then shoved them away as hard as I could. They staggered, not having expected my strength.

Sound interesting so far. Slowly making my way through this series. Hopefully I like it as much as I did the first one.

8 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ July 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

