Review: NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

Title: NOS4A2

Author: Joe Hill

Source: My own copy purchased via Amazon Kindle

Summary via Goodreads:

Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to unanswerable questions. On her Raleigh Tuff Burner bike, she makes her way to a rickety covered bridge that, within moments, takes her wherever she needs to go, whether it’s across Massachusetts or across the country.

Charles Talent Manx has a way with children. He likes to take them for rides in his 1938 Rolls-Royce Wraith with the NOS4A2 vanity plate. With his old car, he can slip right out of the everyday world, and onto the hidden roads that transport them to an astonishing – and terrifying – playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland.”

Then, one day, Vic goes looking for trouble—and finds Manx. That was a lifetime ago. Now Vic, the only kid to ever escape Manx’s unmitigated evil, is all grown up and desperate to forget. But Charlie Manx never stopped thinking about Victoria McQueen. He’s on the road again and he’s picked up a new passenger: Vic’s own son.

My Rating:

5 out of 5 Stars

My Review:

I’ve had this book on my kindle for a while now. I had heard so many great things about this book lately that I finally decided to read it. I loved it. It was creepy and suspenseful. The characters and the story were so well done. For a book that is almost 700 pages it didn’t ever seem like that long of a book, thanks to the shorter chapters.

The characters were so creepy and fantastic and Vic was such an interesting character. Imagine being able to find anything you’ve ever lost just by riding your bike. I am such a fan of Vic and I was rooting for her so hard. She goes through so much in her life and she is such a dynamic character.

Charles Manx was such an evil and creepy character. He was kinda scary. The narration of his voice from the audiobook gave me the creeps. He is like the ultimate villain. His license plate – NOS4A2 – is a play on words meaning Nosferatu, which means vampire, although don’t get it twisted, Manx is not actually a vampire. At least not in the traditional sense.

I would recommend you not read this book at night. I seriously thought I was going to have nightmares about Charles Manx. I was reading this along with listening to the audiobook and the creepy voices were only making him seem even creepier.

I’m not a huge fan of the ending, but I can kinda see why it happened the way it did. Overall I really enjoyed this story and I think you will too.

This is my first Joe Hill book and I’m sure it won’t be my last. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes creepy and scary kinds of books. Sorry this is such a short review. Not much I can say about this book that hasn’t already been said thousands of times before.

8 thoughts on “Review: NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

  1. I’m glad to hear that it didn’t feel like a 700 page book! I don’t usually read creepy/scary books, but I’ve heard very good things about Joe Hill. By the way, I really appreciate that your view of the ending didn’t change how you felt about the book overall. I had a similar experience with a book recently–I just kept wondering why the author would do what she did–but I came to terms with it eventually and ended up giving the book a positive review.

    Like

    • There are quite a few books where I question the author’s choices about the ending, but usually after I get over my disappointment I can manage to sit back and think about how it was probably the right thing for the story.

      Thank you for your comment and thank you for following. 🙂

      Like

      • I’m the same way, but it sometimes takes me a while to get over my disappointment! Those are the times when I wish someone would write an alternative ending/fanfic.

        Like

  2. You can’t go wrong with Joe Hill. I’m reading this right now and having a scary good time. Glad you enjoyed it and I agree, it reads fast for so many pages. I love short chapters.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday ~ September 23, 2014 | Over the Bookshelf

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday ~ December 9, 2014 | Over the Bookshelf

  5. Pingback: 12 Days of Books Tag | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

