Review ~ Facing The Music by Andrea Laurence

Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

Title: Facing The Music
Author: Andrea Laurence
Source: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:

4 out of 5 stars.

My Review:

Facing the Music is the story of Ivy Hudson. She is a pop star who made her name by writing a break-up song about the size of a certain body part of her ex-boyfriend Blake. After she has a bit of a misstep with her Hollywood image, she returns home to her small town of Rosewood to help raise money to rebuild the football field, after it was damaged by a tornado.

Little does she know that her ex is now the coach of the football team after his NFL dreams were shattered along with his leg, his heart, and also his ego. Now they are forced to be around each other for a prolonged period of time and they start realizing that all those feelings they had might not be as in the past as they thought.

I really enjoyed this book. It was very sweet and genuine. It was a really cute romance and a pretty quick read. I enjoyed the characters and the setting was a really good choice.

I normally don’t gravitate towards characters like Ivy, but I really connected with her. I really enjoyed her voice in this book and her interactions with all of the other characters. She is struggling to try and write songs that aren’t about breaking up and her relationship with Blake turns out to be perfect inspiration for her.

Blake was a really nice character. He was kind of  typical jock, but also has the heart of gold. He is still struggling with the way his football career ended. He harbors some ill feelings for Ivy, at least he thinks he does, and he isn’t exactly trilled that Ivy is back in town. I loved all of his interactions with Ivy and their playful banter.

The chemistry between Ivy and Blake was very evident. It was obvious from the first time they laid eyes on each other that they still had very real feelings for each other. The relationship progressed very realistically and it was very sweet. As with any story of this type, they go through a little rough patch, but it gets resolved fairly quickly.

The reason I only gave this 4 stars is because it is kind of predictable, although I feel like most books like this one are. I kept waiting for the bad thing to happen because a bad thing always happens. I hate that the bad thing had to happen but I was happy that it turned out, as it usually does, much differently than it appears.

I really enjoyed this book and I think you will too. If you like small town, really sweet romance, you will enjoy this book too.

 

Leave a Reply

