Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ September 26, 2014

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Remember to post your link here.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post your link here.

11300302

Title: Alice in Zombieland

Author: Gena Showalter

Series: Book #1 in the White Rabbit Chronicles

Summary via Goodreads:

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

*Beginning:

A Note From Alice:

Had anyone told me that my entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, I would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please.

But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything I knew and loved was gone.

*Page 58:

How long had I been staring at that boy?

At least he was staring at me, too.

Or maybe that wasn’t such a good thing.

Thoughts:

I have owned this book for a while now and recently got book two in the series. I have been meaning to read this book for so long now. I have heard mostly good things about it and it’s going to be a perfect book to read in October.

What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice weekend.

9 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ September 26, 2014

  1. I’ve seen this one around but really know nothing about it other than Alice and Wonderland with zombies. I like the beginning a lot and the kind of wry humor in the excerpt. I’ll have to look for this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

