Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ November 21, 2014

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

10323019

Title: Before I go To Sleep

Author: S.J. Watson

Summary via Goodreads:

Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?

Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love—all forgotten overnight.

And the one person you trust may be telling you only half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

*Beginning:

The bedroom is strange. Unfamiliar. I don’t know where I am, how I came to be here. I don’t know how I’m going to get home.

*56%:

He waited for a long time and then he said, “Christine? You said you’d read your journal?”

“Yes,” I said.

He waited again. “I didn’t ring this morning. I didn’t tell you where it was.”

I realized it was true. I had gone to the wardrobe myself and, though I didn’t know what I would find inside it, I found the shoebox and opened it almost without thinking. I had found it myself. As if I had remembered it would be there.

“That’s excellent,” he said.

*Thoughts:

I have had this book on my kindle for a little while and I was finally motivated to read it after seeing the trailer for the movie adaptation. 

I’m almost halfway through this book and It’s interesting. The writing is a little monotone, almost boring, and the suspense hasn’t really pulled me in completely yet. I imagine the second half will move along a little more quickly. Overall I’m liking the book so far.

 

5 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 ~ November 21, 2014

Leave a Reply

