Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #23 ~ Grave Mercy

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*From this point on I will be numbering these posts instead of dating them.

9565548

Title: Grave Mercy

Author: Robin LaFevers

Series: His Fair Assassin #1

Summary via Goodreads:

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

Beginning:

I bear a deep red stain that runs from my left shoulder down to my right hip, a trail left by the herbwitch’s poison that my mother used to try to expel me from her womb. That I survived, according to the herbwitch, is no miracle but a sign I have been sired by the god of death himself.

Page 56/56% (Page 54):

She gives a nod of dismissal, then cracks open the seal on the letter in front of her. Just before I step into the hall, she calls out, “Ismae?”

“Yes, Reverend Mother?”

“Your second test will come soon,” she says, not looking up from her correspondence. “It will not be this easy.”

I cannot tell if her words are meant as a promise or a warning, so I take them as both.

Thoughts:

I have heard mixed things about this book, but it’s been mostly positive. I’ve had this book on my kindle for a while and it looks like a really interesting story. The beginning sounds very dramatic and I have a feeling I am going to love this book.

What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice weekend.

12 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #23 ~ Grave Mercy

Leave a Reply

