Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #24 ~ Reason To Breathe

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.


18040398

Title: Reason to Breathe

Author: Rebecca Donovan

Series: The Breathing Series #1

Summary via Goodreads:

“No one tried to get involved with me, and I kept to myself. This was the place where everything was supposed to be safe and easy. How could Evan Mathews unravel my constant universe in just one day?”

In the affluent town of Weslyn, Connecticut, where most people worry about what to be seen in and who to be seen with, Emma Thomas would rather not be seen at all. She’s more concerned with feigning perfection—pulling down her sleeves to conceal the bruises, not wanting anyone to know how far from perfect her life truly is. Without expecting it, she finds love. It challenges her to recognize her own worth―at the risk of revealing the terrible secret she’s desperate to hide.

One girl’s story of life-changing love, unspeakable cruelty, and her precarious grasp of hope: Reason to Breathe is the first installment of the acclaimed Breathing Series.


Beginning:

Breathe. My eyes swelled as I swallowed against the lump in my throat. Frustrated with my weakness, I swiftly brushed away the tears that had forced their way down my cheeks with the back of my hand.

Page 56:

What did it really matter at this point? According to Evan, I wasn’t well liked by just about everyone-so who cared what they said if I pulled up with him? But I did care. Not being liked was so much worse than being invisible. I took a deep breath and blew it away before it could hurt. I didn’t need to know what people thought about me.

Thoughts:

Although I own the kindle version of this book, I will be listening to the audiobook version of this for the Audiobook challenge. I’ve heard this is an emotional book and I’d say that’s probably true based on that first sentence. It seems to be a pretty well liked book so I’m excited to start it very soon.


What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? Let me know in the comments.

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice weekend.

9 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #24 ~ Reason To Breathe

Leave a Reply

