Review ~ Weep No More, My Lady by Mary Higgins Clark

288804Title: Weep No More, My Lady

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Source: Hardcover purchased many years ago.

Summary via Goodreads: Elizabeth Lange has arrived at Cypress Point Spa in Pebble Beach, California, weary of heart and soul. Still grieving for her beloved sister, a famous actress who plunged to her death from her Manhattan penthouse, Elizabeth is determined to unearth the truth about how Leila died. Dashing millionaire Ted Winters stands accused of her murder, but Elizabeth has doubts.

Along the windswept cliffs of the Monterey coast, in luxurious bungalows, between gourmet meals and beachfront walks, uneasiness stalks Elizabeth while she begins opening doors to the past. As glimpses of the dark truth about Leila’s life and death — and about Elizabeth herself — start to crash against her mind, an ominous wave from an unexpected source threatens to engulf her entirely.


My Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Review:

It took me three tries to finally get through this book. I always got suck about 50 pages in. I would get bored and put it down and not pick it up until much later. I guess this time around it was the right time. I picked up the book and didn’t put it down until I was finished. The thing I love about Mary Higgins Clark is how she manages to keep you guessing until the end, although I actually figured out who the killer was way before it was revealed, which is rare for me.

This story revolves around Elizabeth Lange. Her actress sister was pushed off her balcony, supposedly by her fiance Ted. Elizabeth is invited to the Cypress Point Spa and is quickly surrounded by not only Ted, but everyone in Leila’s circle of friends, who are all keeping secrets about what really happened the night Leila died. Elizabeth soon starts to doubt the things she thinks she knows about Leila and about what really happened to her.

Leila was a troubled woman. Following the girls rough childhood they moved to New York and Leila continued to raise a young Elizabeth, while pursuing her dream of being an actress. Leila has a problem trusting men and would become extremely jealous. On the night of her death she had embarrassed herself in a play, being really drunk and forgetting lines.  She lashes out at those around her and has a huge fight with Ted giving pretty much everyone in her circle motive to kill her.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. I liked Elizabeth as the main character and even though I figured out who the killer was, there was lots of suspense and lots of wow moments. The different points of view were done very well and will keep most of you guessing until the end. I enjoyed the interactions between all of the minor characters, continually passing around the suspicion of who the killer is.

I have now read 28 books by Mary Higgins Clark and while this one wasn’t the best I’ve read by her, I am still a huge fan of hers and would definitely recommend her books to anyone who is a fan of mystery and suspense.


Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Review ~ Weep No More, My Lady by Mary Higgins Clark

  1. Pingback: 2015 TBR Pile Challenge | Over the Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up ~ January 2015 | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

