Review ~ Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

22171558Title: Twisted Fate

Author: Norah Olson

Published by: Katherine Tegen Books, January 20, 2015

Format/Source: e-Arc provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Summary Via Goodreads: When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney’s mind, Graham’s odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.


My Rating: 2 Stars

My Review:

This book was being compared to We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, which I absolutely loved. Unfortunately thus book ended up not really doing anything for me. I wanted so badly to love this. I wanted it to be half the book We Were Liars was and it ended up just really disappointing me. There were too many points of view, the writing was kind of all over the place, and not even halfway through it started to get really repetitive. I wasn’t a fan of really any of the characters and the twist was hinted at way too many times in the book, long before it was revealed at the end.

I found Allison and Sydney to be very cliche characters, the good girl and the bad girl. They didn’t have much to them and they both started to annoy me. A lot of this book was spent comparing the two girls to each other. I feel like the author spent too much time trying to make the girls seem like complete opposites, it was kind of necessary for the big twist, it was just not done very well.

I found Graham to be really creepy and kind of unstable. I found him to be very disturbing and I didn’t really enjoy any of his chapters. I probably would have liked him better if the girls hadn’t spent most of this book obsessed with him. One talking about how much she liked him and the other constantly suspicious of him.

From the very first chapter of the book you know that something really bad happens that involves Graham, who hasn’t even been introduced into the story yet, and most of the chapters from there on are simply used to try to build up the tension and suspense. There were some random pov chapters that pretty much all ended with the same declaration of shock over what happens at the end. It wasn’t long before that really started to annoy me. Now that I know what the twist is, it was kind of shocking, but this book needed more than just the shock factor to make up for the rest of it. I feel like the author was trying too hard and it just didn’t work.

The writing in this book was not very good. It was all over the place and messy. It was constantly changing from present tense to past tense. After you figure out the ending you’re going to have the urge to go back and re-read some of the chapters and it will start to make more sense. Although, there was one chapter that will make absolutely no sense after the twist.

The good thing about this book is that it’s really short. Although I was annoyed, it did keep my attention and I wouldn’t say that I completely hated it. You may be able to look past all of the things I mentioned in this review, so I wouldn’t necessarily say you shouldn’t bother reading it. It didn’t work for me, but if you like dark, twisty, weird stories, you may like this one, just keep you expectations low.


Happy Reading!

One thought on “Review ~ Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up ~ January 2015 | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

