Review ~ The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

18135437Title: The Third Twin

Author: C.J. Omololu

Published by: Delacorte Books for Young Readers, February 24, 2015

Format/Source: E-Arc provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary via Goodreads: Identical twins. Identical DNA. Identical suspects. It’s Pretty Little Liarsmeets Revenge in this edge-of-your-seat thriller with a shocking twist.

When they were little, Lexi and her identical twin, Ava, made up a third sister, Alicia. If something broke? Alicia did it. Cookies got eaten? Alicia’s guilty. Alicia was always to blame for everything. The game is all grown up now that the girls are seniors. They use Alicia as their cover to go out with boys who are hot but not exactly dating material. Boys they’d never, ever be with in real life.

Now one of the guys Alicia went out with has turned up dead, and Lexi wants to stop the game for good. As coincidences start piling up, Ava insists that if they follow the rules for being Alicia, everything will be fine. But when another boy is killed, the DNA evidence and surveillance photos point to only one suspect: Alicia. The girl who doesn’t exist. As she runs from the cops, Lexi has to find the truth before another boy is murdered. Because either Ava is a killer…or Alicia is real.


My Review:

 Going into this book, I had an idea of what I thought was going to happen and I ended up pleasantly surprised by how different it actually turned out to be. Simply put, The Third Twin is an interesting and very entertaining murder mystery.

The story revolves around identical twins Lexi and Ava. As children, they created a fictional twin called Alicia. Anytime they would do something wrong they would blame it on Alicia. Now that they are teenagers they use Alicia as a cover for when they want to go out to parties or date guys they don’t want to give their real names to. Alicia does things Lexi and Ava would never be caught doing. The fun starts when one of Alicia’s dates turns up dead. All signs point in one direction and suddenly Alicia doesn’t seem quite as fictional.

I found Lexi and Ava to be slightly predictable characters. One sister who does whatever she wants and tries to laugh everything off and the other sister who’s more on the good side, the smart girl, the girl who tries to be the voice of reason. I did believe in their relationship. They came off as believable to me, like real sisters although, I was hoping for more of the identical twin angle of the story instead of the author repeatedly telling us how identical they looked.

As individuals, I definitely was more a fan of Lexi. She was the voice of reason and she was the one who cared about finding out the truth. Even if it hadn’t said in the summary that Lexi starts to suspect Ava, going into the book I could definitely understand how her suspicions would start going in that direction. Ava hears about all these terrible things that are happening and brushes it off, which would look suspicious on any character.

The twist was definitely interesting and not what I was expecting. There are certain books you go into thinking you already know how it’s going to end. I felt that way with this book but I was actually happy that I was so wrong. I will also admit that I didn’t figure out who the killer was until the last clue before the reveal and I couldn’t believe that I didn’t see it coming.

I enjoyed the mystery aspect of this book very much. The story kept my attention throughout and it wrapped up very nicely. The writing was very well done. This was an entertaining read and I would definitely recommend it to any mystery and YA fans out there.


Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Review ~ The Third Twin by C.J. Omololu

  1. Pingback: 2015 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge | Over the Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

