Book Beginnings & the Friday 56 #31 ~ Cruel Beauty (w/Review)

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader

*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.


18106318

Title: Cruel Beauty

Author: Rosamund Hodge

Publshed by: Balzer + Bray, January 28, 2014

Format/Source: Own the Kindle edition

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary via Goodreads: Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.


Beginning:

I was raised to marry a monster.

Page 56:

But with each step I took, my heart kept beating. My mind remained. I didn’t want to claw my eyes out of my head, to chew the nails off my fingers. The scream shuddering inside me was easy to suppress. I could think, He said he wants me alive till dinner, and it made sense to me.

Thoughts/Review:

I finished Cruel Beauty last night so I figured I would also include my review.

I really enjoyed Cruel Beauty. I was a little hesitant because of the mixed reviews and while I understand why some felt iffy about the story, I was hooked and was able to overlook some of the more confusing parts. Nyx is the kind of character that not everyone will like. She could be very frustrating. She was always changing her mind and her priorities. She got caught up in her environment and in the moment very often.

There is a small part of the first half where you get a lot of information that may or may not be important. I enjoyed the mythology aspect of the story. I enjoyed the whole sort of mystery of the book. The only problem was that the story seemed a little out of sorts at certain parts. Some of the story seemed confusing, but eventually it all comes together.

The romance was just a little too present in the story. It seems to happen very quickly and is very present. It affects much of what happens in the book. Ignifex is one of those characters that you’re probably not supposed to like, but I totally loved him. The relationship between Ignifex and Nyx totally hooked me, despite how quickly it seemed to start.

This book had me hooked from the beginning. There were some really interesting twists and although slightly confusing, I really liked how it ended. I really liked the writing by Rosamund Hodge and I would recommend this book.


What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? 

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice weekend.

3 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & the Friday 56 #31 ~ Cruel Beauty (w/Review)

  1. I’ve been intrigued by this one but I’ve been a little hesitant because of the mixed reviews. I really like the excerpts and I like that you were able to understand why it wasn’t a winner for everyone. I’ll have to check this one out. I don’t think Nyx would bother me too much – especially since I know what to expect going in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

