Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #39 ~ The Princess In The Opal Mask (w/ Review)

BB.Button

*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader
*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.

Friday 56

*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

17290682Title: The Princess In The Opal Mask

Author: Jenny Lundquist

Series: The Opal Mask #1

Format/Source: Paperback, Won in a Giveaway.

Published by: Running Press Kids, October 22, 2013

Goodreads badge add plus

Every Fairy-Tale Ending Has a Price. . .Orphaned as a child in the crumbling village of Tulan, Elara is determined to learn her true identity, even if it means wielding a dagger. Meanwhile, in Galandria’s royal capital, Princess Wilha stands out as someone to either worship or fear. Though no one knows why the king has always made her conceal her face—including Wilha herself.

When an assassination attempt threatens the peace of neighboring kingdoms, Elara and Wilha are brought face to face . . . with a chance at claiming new identities. However, with dark revelations now surfacing, both girls will need to decide if brighter futures are worth the binding risks.

Beginning:

Not everyone who attends the coronation wishes the young queen well.

Page 56:

Outwardly I give no sign that the conversation troubles me. But inwardly I feel faint and my stomach churns. A possibility I hadn’t considered earlier enters my mind.

My Rating:

My Thoughts/Review:

I found this book to be very enjoyable. This book is perfect for younger YA and even Middle grade fans. It deals with some politics, but it doesn’t get too heavy and at the time I read this, it was exactly what I needed. The writing was nice and I really connected with some of the characters.

This story is about two girls. We are first introduces to Elara. She is an orphan and is sent to live with a horrible woman and her husband and daughter. She has her best friend, but even he is in a sense, taken away from her by the daughter by the family. I really liked Elara. I was rooting for her from the beginning. She was easily my favorite character.

The story is alternately told in Elara’s point of view and Wilha’s point of view. I really didn’t like Wilha. I found her to be very annoying. It was understandable in the beginning, but her attitude got old, real fast. She is a princess and she had a lot more power than she seemed to think she did. She had so many chances to reveal her face and chose not too, yet she was constantly complaining that something must be wrong with her.

There is some political unrest and Wilha is set to marry a prince from another kingdom and in an effort to assure her safety, Elara is tasked, forced really, to pose as the masked princess until they know she is safe in this other kingdom. They arrive safely and Wiha chooses this moment to finally act and she decides to do something for hersel for once, not caring about how if affects anyone else, namely Elara.

I really loved Elara’s love interest in this book. I found them to be very cute together and I really hope they end up together. There are hints. however, of a potential triangle, but hopefully that doesn’t happen.

This story was easy to follow and I really enjoyed it. I won this book in a giveaway and the cover is absolutely gorgeous in person. I am definitely planning to read get my hands on the other book in the duology sometime soon. I highly recommend this book, especially if you’re in need of a lighter fantasy book.


 What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? 

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a nice weekend.

10 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #39 ~ The Princess In The Opal Mask (w/ Review)

Leave a Reply

