Top Ten Tuesday #11 ~ Books I Will Probably Never Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme:

Top Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

*These are in no particular order.


pizap.com14308110063951

1. Interview with the Vampire – Anne Rice

– I have never watched the movie and when I tried to read the book, it was not good. I got stuck really early, put it down and never picked it up again.

2. The Book Thief – Marcus Zusak

– I tried to read this one last year and it just wasn’t working for me.

3. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson

– I was planning to read this book right when all the hype was happening, but I never got around to it and probably never will.

4. Wicked – Gregory Maguire

– I borrowed this book years ago, right before my cousin took me to see Wicked, the musical, for Christmas and I could never get very far.

pizap.com14308112222672

5. Delirium – Lauren Oliver

– I own books 1 and 2 in the series, but every time I try to start reading book 1, I get stuck and bored.

6. The iron King – Julie Kagawa

– I own the first 2 books in this series and I had every intention of reading it, but the longer I go without reading them, the more I’m sure I never will.

7. The Scorch Trials – James Dashner

– I liked The Maze Runner, but I don’t really feel the need to continue the series. I’ve heard the books just get worse, so I think I’ll stick to the movie.

8. The Host – Stephanie Meyer

– I read Twilight in the early days, before the movie was even a thing and I actually enjoyed them, so I also got a copy of this book by the same author. I’ve tried to read it twice now and it’s just not happening. It’s a huge book and I can’t seem to ever get past the first 2 chapters.

pizap.com14308112540281

9. Dangerous Creatures – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

– I read all four books in the Beautiful Creatures series and I loved it. This new series features two of the characters I didn’t particularly like from the first series. I think it’s a case of not wanting to go back to the Beautiful Creatures world when I feel like I’m finished with that word.

10. The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

– I read the first book in the series and I remember really loving it. For whatever reason, I just have not ever wanted to continue the series.


Do you agree with any of the books on my list? Disagree with any of them?

Let me know in the comments and leave a link to your TTT post and I’ll check it out. 

Happy Reading!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #11 ~ Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. I loved The Host! Granted in order to love it, I had to force myself to read the first ten or so chapters because I found them boring and I had to wait a long time between it and Twilight because I kept expecting sparkly vampires to show up 😉
    I own Delirium too and it made my list as well. I just haven’t ever been able to bring myself to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with almost your entire list! Some are even on mine. 😀 I liked Delirium, though the second and third books lost my interest. I know The Book Thief is a several people’s favorites, but I just have no interest in reading this book. Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heh, I don’t understand how you can leave a series that you liked unfinished, but that’s just me. I’m compulsive that way. I agree that the Maze Runner books get worse as they go on, and the ending of the series left me really angry and disappointed. Even if you don’t read the books, the movie of Interview with the Vampire is pretty great (yum, Brad Pitt, Antonio Banderas, Tom Cruise before the weird scientology stuff…). Good list.

    I know this is ridiculously late for TTT, but I love seeing everyone’s lists and I simply didn’t get the time earlier in the week. Mine is at http://www.leiawriting.co.za/blog/top-ten-tuesdays-2/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

