Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #49 ~ Bewitching (w/Review)

pizap.com14347043495981
*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader
*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.
~
*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

11859244Title: Bewitching

Author: Alex Flinn

Format/Source: Hardcover/Own Copy

Published by: HarperTeen; February 14, 2012

My Rating: 4 Stars

Goodreads badge add plus

Bewitching can be a beast. . . .

Once, I put a curse on a beastly and arrogant high school boy. That one turned out all right. Others didn’t.

I go to a new school now—one where no one knows that I should have graduated long ago. I’m not still here because I’m stupid; I just don’t age.

You see, I’m immortal. And I pretty much know everything after hundreds of years—except for when to take my powers and butt out.

I want to help, but things just go awry in ways I could never predict. Like when I tried to free some children from a gingerbread house and ended up being hanged. After I came back from the dead (immortal, remember?), I tried to play matchmaker for a French prince and ended up banished from France forever. And that little mermaid I found in the Titanic lifeboat? I don’t even want to think about it.

Now a girl named Emma needs me. I probably shouldn’t get involved, but her gorgeous stepsister is conniving to the core. I think I have just the thing to fix that girl—and it isn’t an enchanted pumpkin. Although you never know what will happen when I start . . . bewitching.


Beginning:

If you read fairy tales, and who doesn’t, you might believe there are witches all over the place-witches baking children into gingerbread, making princesses sleep hundreds of years, even turning normal teenage boys into hideous beasts to teach them a lesson. But, actually, there are only a few of us.

Page 46:

Even the people are, for the most part, boring. The school queen who thinks she’s one of a kind would be surprised to learn she is one of a million, and bullies have plagued every generation. But teenagers make good companions. Absorbed as they are in their own worries, they tend not to notice me much.

And, occasionally, I find, if not a friend, a deserving (or not so deserving) soul who needs my magical assistance. Or correction.

Thoughts:

I really enjoyed Bewitching. It’s all about Kendra, the witch from Beastly, from her childhood and how she became a witch, to some of the people she has tried, and mostly failed, to help. Kendra was an interesting character and I’m really glad she got her own book. She is the kind of character who has the urge to want to help people, but unfortunately, her help doesn’t always work out for the better.

Throughout the book we are shown the present day story of Emma and her stepsister Lisette, who is pure evil, and Kendra is wondering if she should help Emma or if her help will only make things worse. We get a couple of examples of times that Kendra has helped, a prince looking for his princess and a mermaid who falls in love with a human. Those were both examples of Kendra hurting more than helping.

I really enjoyed the format of this story and all of the little fairy tale retellings within. We get short story retellings of Hansel and Gretel, The Little Mermaid, The Princess and the Pea, and the main story, a twist on Cinderella. I love the way Alex Flinn puts her spin on these stories. They are a little on the fluffy side, but so enjoyable and very easy to follow along with.

I’ll be reading my fourth Flinn novel, Mirrored, sometime next month and I’m definitely looking forward to it.


What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? 

I hope you have a nice weekend.

Happy Reading!

13 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #49 ~ Bewitching (w/Review)

Leave a Reply

