Monthly Wrap-Up ~ August 2015

month in review banner

*Clicking on the banner will take you to the Monthly Review Link-up hosted by Kathryn @Book Date.

August 2015 Month In Review

 Last month I had my best reading month ever, where I read 20 books, which I thought was a crazy number for me, and so of course, I managed to read even more books this month. ARC August was a huge success for me. That’s right, all 30 books I read this month were ARCs and because I’m now way ahead I decided to go off schedule and start reading The Shadow Queen, which is one of the 2016 ARCs I was just approved for. I’ve already read 25% and I’m loving it.

This month was also a great blogging month for me. I posted 9 reviews, which is a record for me, and I’ve got a bunch more scheduled. I’ve also written up a few more reviews for some of the ARC August books.

For September, I was planning to focus on reading my own books, which I will still do, but I was approved for some of the 2016 books I was really looking forward to, so I may have to slip some of those into my TBR for September.


Books read in August: 30

Blackmail Boyfriend – Chris Cannon ~ 4 Stars

Has To Be Love – Jolene Perry ~ 3 Stars

Ash & Bramble – Sarah Prineas ~ 3.5 Stars

Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy ~ 4 Stars

Burn Girl – Mandy Mikulencak ~ 3 Stars

Violent Ends – Multiple Authors ~ 5 Stars

Cut Both Ways – Carrie Mesrobian ~ 2 Stars

Are You Still There – Sarah Lynn Scheerger ~ 3 Stars

Mirrored – Alex Flinn ~  3 Stars

Blood and Salt – Kim Liggett ~ 5 Stars

What We Saw – Aaron Hartzler ~ 5 Stars

Dreamland – Robert L. Anderson ~ 3.5 Stars

The Unquiet – Mikaela Everett ~ 3 Stars

My Secret To Tell – Natalie D. Richards ~ 4 Stars

Walk on Earth a Stranger – Rae Carson ~ 3.5 Stars

Riot of Storm and Smoke – Jennifer Ellision ~ 5 Stars

Hotel Ruby – Suzanne Young ~ 3 Stars

Consent – Nancy Ohlin ~ 2.5 Stars

Future Perfect – Jen Larsen ~ 3 Stars

A Sliver of Stardust – Marissa Burt ~ 4 Stars

Finding Perfect – Kendra C. Highley ~ 5 Stars

Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru – Tera Lynn Childs ~ 5 Stars

A Madness So Discreet – Mindy McGinnis ~ 3 Stars

A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic – Lisa Papademitriou ~ 3 Stars

A Step Toward Falling – Cammie McGovern ~ 4 Stars

If You’re Lucky – Yvonne Prinz ~ 3 Stars

What’s Broken Between Us – Alexis Bass ~ 3 Stars

All We Left Behind – Ingrid Sundberg ~ 3 Stars

Falling For The Wrong Guy – Sara Hantz ~ 4 Stars

The Truth About Lies – Courtney C. Stevens ~ 4 Stars

Reviews Posted in August9

Awake by Natasha Preston

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Red Blooded by Caitlin Sinead

The Uninvited by Cat Winters

Blackmail Boyfriend by Chris Cannon

Riot of Storm and Smoke by Jennifer Ellision

Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

Has To Be Love by Jolene Perry

Violent Ends by Multiple Authors


Challenge Updates

* You can get to my Challenge Posts from the menu bar at the top of the page.

* ? = there is no set number for this challenge.

What’s In A Name:

Books Read: 5/6

Books Reviewed: 3/6

TBR Pile Challenge:

Books read: 3/12

Books Reviewed: 3/12

Read Your Freebies Challenge:

Books Read: 4/12

Books Reviewed: 3/12

Audiobook Challenge:

Books Read: 14/?

Netgalley and Edelweiss Challenge:

Books Read: 66/?

Books Reviewed: 34/?


 Resolutions/Goals Updates

* To see my goals and resolutions post click here. Some of the resolutions/goals were updated earlier in the post so they won’t all be listed here.

Goodreads:

– I have read 113/110 books. I can’t believe it’s only the end of August and I’ve finished my Goodreads challenge goal, which I thought was going to be a little bit of a challenge when I made the goal.

Reviews:

Reviews posted this Month: 9

Reviews posted in 2015: 38

Discussion posts:

– Still no progress here. I have some ideas, but haven’t been able to get all my thoughts into a post that actually makes any sense.

Comments:

– I feel pretty good about this one. I could still be better at going to other blogs and leaving comments.

Memes:

– I’ve been feeling pretty productive the last few months and these posts have been fun for me to do this year.

Series:

– I’ve finished 1 series this year, but hoping to finish at least one more.

Classics:

– I will get to this one eventually.

Operation No Soda:

– It’s now been 8 months since I last had soda and I’m doing really good with this goal. I don’t even really think about it anymore and cravings have been really rare. Still working on drinking more water.


August Obsessions

*These are some of things that took up my attention when I wasn’t reading this month.

What I was listening to…

  • I haven’t really been listening to anything in particular this month until this past week. Thanks to everyone on Twitter who were raving about Halsey, I have discovered my new favorite album. I had heard of Halsey before, but never listened to any of her songs, but the new Badlands album is awesome and if you haven’t listened to it yet, please go do so.

What I was watching…

  • In the last week of August my dad and I started up our Netflix again so I finally finished seasn 1 of Arrow.
  • I also got in a few episodes of Supernatural. I’m almost finished with season 4.

Thank you for stopping by.

I hope you had a good August and I hope you have an even better September.

Happy Reading!

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up ~ August 2015

Leave a Reply

