Review ~ Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

25027815Title: Blood and Salt (Blood and Salt #1)

Author: Kim Liggett

Published by: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers; September 22, 2015

Format/Source: Digital galley provided for free via First To Read in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 5 Stars

Goodreads badge add plus

“When you fall in love, you will carve out your heart and throw it into the deepest ocean. You will be all in—blood and salt.”

These are the last words Ash Larkin hears before her mother returns to the spiritual commune she escaped long ago. But when Ash follows her to Quivira, Kansas, something sinister and ancient waits among the rustling cornstalks of this village lost to time.

Ash is plagued by memories of her ancestor, Katia, which harken back to the town’s history of unrequited love and murder, alchemy and immortality. Charming traditions soon give way to a string of gruesome deaths, and Ash feels drawn to Dane, a forbidden boy with secrets of his own.

As the community prepares for a ceremony five hundred years in the making, Ash must fight not only to save her mother, but herself—and discover the truth about Quivira before it’s too late. Before she’s all in—blood and salt.

Review:

Sometimes you hear about a book and read the summary and you just know, you need that book in your life. For me, Blood and Salt was one of those books and I absolutely loved it. It was creepy and thrilling and I was blown away by the writing. I told myself I wouldn’t read a book about a cult again, but I’m glad I made an exception in this case. I was hooked from the very first sentence and flew through this book, and only put it down if I absolutely had to.

Ash and her twin brother Rhys are on  road trip to Quivera, Kansas to find their mother, who was once a member of a cult hidden behind some very tall corn stalks. When they step through the stalks, they are welcomed with open arms and thrown into the preparations for a ceremony, 500 years in the making. Ash starts to feel like she’s here for a reason, like this is where she is supposed to be, but Rhys wants nothing more than to find their mother and go home. Ash also finds herself drawn to the one guy in the cult she’s supposed to stay away from, Dane, who’s got secrets of his own.

Ash was  a really interesting character. I connected with her really well and I was really drawn to her personality. She was actually pretty funny, but also strong and brave, at least, when she needed to be. She certainly wasn’t a perfect character, but I really liked her as the main character.

My favorite part of this book was the flashback story. I love how the past was seamlessly blended into the present day story. I kind of figured out where the story was going pretty early on, but in this case, it didn’t take anything away from the story. This had a feel of a story within a story and I happen to have a spot spot for those kinds of stories.

The romance was definitely very present in this story, in both the past and present parts of the story and normally I wouldn’t love that, but I found myself really enjoying that part of the story. I ate up every scene between Ash and Dane and I loved all of the interactions of the minor characters.

Overall, I loved this book. From the creepy cult to the romance and all of the thrills and twists. I am very much looking forward to reading the sequel. I highly recommend you get your hands on a copy of this book.


Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

