Top Ten Tuesday #28 ~ If You Liked That, Read This

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme:

Top Ten Books To Read If You Like _____.

*These are in no particular order.


lyfvlhb

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson and Paperweight by Meg Haston both deal with the topic of eating disorders and other mental health issues. Both of these books were amazing and powerful.

khfckj

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers both feature a kick-ass main character, who happens to be an assassin.

arhadfh

If you loved My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick, you will also love Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs. While the circumstances in these books differ, they both feature the cute boy next door and the disapproving parent.

zfgnfxgn

While I didn’t actually read The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Bashares, I did watch the movie and it’s all about true friendship and the bonds of those friends and Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer is a really great book about friendship and second chances.

ljgckgcv

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead and Going Down In Flames by Chris Cannon feature different supernatural beings, one being vampires and the other dragons, but they have a similar set up. They are both set in a school, in the middle of nowhere. And they both feature a main character who is kind of not very well liked, and they both have a don’t care attitude about it.

mhchgv

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult and Violent Ends by Multiple Authors both tackle the difficult subject of a school shooting, and they approach it in really unique ways. They both manage to focus on more than the actual event, but on the people involved and the aftermath.

zfbdfbdf

If you loved Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, then you’re probably going to love Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision, as much as I did. I can’t really go into their similarities without giving stuff away, but just know that I absolutely adored both books and if you haven’t checked out Threats of Sky and Sea, please do so.

,jgc

This is another set of books that deal with an extremely difficult subject. I read Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson many years ago and it really affected me and I got a similar feeling after reading What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler,

khgcjhb

If you liked Twilight by Stephenie Meyer and even if you didn’t I would highly recommend the Morganville Vampire Series by Rachel Caine. It is one of my favorite Series and it’s got a little bit of a different dynamic as compered to other vampire series. Morganville is a town that the vampires chose to be theirs, so they didn’t have to hide and they run the town. IT’s a really interesting dynamic and I absolutely loved the series from start to finish. I’m still sad that it’s over.

jgckgc

I love a good retelling and Cinder by Marissa Meyer is one of my favorites as is The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine, which unfortunately doesn’t come out until next year. But I will say, It’s totally worth the wait. I love how The Lunar Chronicles manage to weave together so many different fairy tales. The Show Queen is a retelling of Snow White and the next books in the series will focus on different fairy tales.


Leave a link to your TTT post and I’ll be sure to stop by.

Happy Reading!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #28 ~ If You Liked That, Read This

  1. Totally going to take your Going Down In Flames suggestion and see what the book’s about because I’ve recently started the Vampire Academy series and am really enjoying it. Also, I am so looking forward to The Shadow Queen next year – even more so now that I know there’s going to be a sequel that focuses on different people. I love it when series do that.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been super-excited for The Snow Queen for a while and now that you compared it to The Lunar Chronicles the waiting got even more painful. I love VA so I checked out Going Down in Flames and it sounds really awesome and unique. Most people seem to enjoy it so it goes straight to my tbr list. Thanks for the recommendations, great list! 🙂
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

