Stacking The Shelves #45 ~ November 28, 2015

STSmall_thumb[2]

Hosted by Tynga’s Reviews

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

    • Participants are to create their own Stacking the Shelves post and link bank toTynga’s Reviews so more people can join the fun!
    • Posts can be laid out any way you want.
    • The host site posts updates on a Saturday but bloggers taking part can post any day they choose.
    • Visit Tynga’s Reviews on a Saturday and add your link.
    • Visit other participants sites to find out what they have added!

Kindle Freebies

ohugvijhbv

Clarity – Loretta Lost

Fiercely independent Helen Winters was born completely blind, but she vowed never to let her disability keep her down. She did not expect a traumatic event to devastate her life and force her to drop out of college. Disillusioned by the cruelty of people, Helen retreated from society to live by herself as a reclusive writer in the woods—where no one could ever hurt her again.

When a brilliant young doctor shows up on her doorstep, promising her that his new research can give her the ability to see for the first time, Helen stubbornly refuses. She has learned not to trust anyone, and to rely only on herself. But Dr. Liam Larson will not take no for an answer. He makes it his personal mission to rescue Helen from her loneliness, and bring joy into her world once more—the joy she has denied herself for so long.

When Helen’s demons come racing back into her life, threatening to rip her apart and destroy the strength she has carefully rebuilt, Liam is the only one who might be able to save her.

Can he reach the broken girl in time, helping her to heal and see the world in a different light? Or will Helen’s grief send her spiraling out of control, lost to him forever?

Empathy – Ker Dukey

Blake:
I am a brother
I am a police detective
I am a contract killer
I don’t want to love
I don’t want to feel
I don’t want … EMPATHY.

They say some people are born with decreased activity in the front central lobe causing them a deficiency in empathy. Maybe that’s true about me but whether I was born this way or created in a moment of evil, empathy was something I didn’t possess until her green eyes met mine in the mirror and I couldn’t take her life.

I didn’t want to feel, didn’t want this woman in my life complicating how I lived but she was there at every turn. Sent to haunt me for my sins. Her light so bright she provoked a shadow from everyone she touched. When a job turns bad quickly altering my life forever I’m forced to feel. When nothing is making sense I’m forced to face truths I never would recover from. When life drowns you in its cruelty you don’t know which way the current will drag you or who you’ll become once you re-surface.

Melody:
I was a daughter
I was a student
I was a victim
Did I have his love?
Did I make him feel?
Did I have his empathy?
When the actions of a soulless killer forces sorrow into my veins I never dreamed the man healing my wounds would be the one to leave the worst scar. His love would scar my soul. Scars are permanent; I will never feel the relief from them. Will I learn to live with them, remember why I have them and learn never to let him close enough to inflict more? Will I eventually cover them… like tattoos coating them with new memories, new love and new starts? I didn’t know these answers because the pain was too suffocating, the only thing I knew was they will always be under the surface lingering. He had scars too, from his sins. There is nothing that can cover them, they were too deep, too ugly, too dark and they marked us both forever.

kjgtvuuh

Resurrected – S.M. Schmitz

Death is final, or so Dietrich once thought. His world, though, is turned upside down when he runs into Lottie, his deceased fiancée, at a café in Houston. But this couldn’t be her, not after two years? She spoke the same, shared the same memories, yet something was different.

Determined to unravel this mystery, Dietrich attempts to find out how her resurrection is possible, only to find that the men who are responsible for her new life want her dead because something went wrong. As he becomes locked in a deadly struggle with those who want to destroy her, he will discover just how much he’s willing to sacrifice for the woman he once loved.

Visions – Kimberly Readnour

Heather Reiner isn’t your typical teenager. Her abilities reach far beyond the norm, and she’s just beginning to discover the possibilities.

Growing up different from her peers hasn’t been easy. Ridiculed by classmates, she moves to another state, but soon realizes you can’t run from a problem that begins inside yourself.

A guy from her new school, Barry, is captivated the first time he sees her. Determined to know her better, he learns her layers of complication run deep. With persistence, he chips away at her shield until each protective layer starts unveiling itself.

Heather wants to be normal, but secrets never stay hidden forever. They reveal themselves when you least expect. Is normalcy obtainable, or will the mystery about herself be discovered? And if discovered, will Barry be like everyone else and turn away?


What books did you add to your shelves this week?

I hope you all have a nice weekend.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Stacking The Shelves #45 ~ November 28, 2015

Leave a Reply

