Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #69 ~ Absent

pizap.com14347043495981
*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader
*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.
~
*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

 15790982Title: Absent

Author: Katie Williams

Published by: Chronicle Books; May 21, 2013

Goodreads badge add plus

When seventeen-year-old Paige dies in a freak fall from the roof during Physics class, her spirit is bound to the grounds of her high school. At least she has company: her fellow ghosts Evan and Brooke, who also died there. But when Paige hears the rumor that her death wasn’t an accident—that she supposedly jumped on purpose—she can’t bear it. Then Paige discovers something amazing. She can possess living people when they think of her, and she can make them do almost anything. Maybe, just maybe, she can get to the most popular girl in school and stop the rumors once and for all.

Beginning:

“When you die,” Lucas Hayes once told me, “it’s like every wound your body has ever had-every skinned knee, paper cut, pimple-opens up and says See? I told you so.”

56%:

Physics. The class where I died.

I haven’t been back here since that day. My old desk is still empty. The desks around it are empty, too, like the dead places in the ocean where the fish won’t swim and the coral has turned all broken and gray.

Thoughts:

I bout this book a while ago because I thought it sounded interesting. I am definitely curious about this book. Just based on the two snippets, I really like this author’s writing style.


What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? 

I hope you have a nice weekend.

Happy Reading!

11 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #69 ~ Absent

  1. I like the writing style and the concept of the main character being a spirit is interesting but I am not really sure how well I would enjoy knowing the main character died so young. I would consider giving it a try if I ever see it around the library. Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

