Monthly Wrap-Up ~ December 2015/ 2015 Wrap-Up

month in review banner

*Clicking on the banner will take you to the Monthly Review Link-up hosted by Kathryn @Book Date.

December 2015 Month In Review

 After spending September through November in a sort of reading slump, December turned out to be a really good reading month. I finally felt like a reader again. I manged to read 8 books for a 2015 total of 140 books, 30 over my goal. I am ending 2015 on a high note and hoping it continues into 2016.

My main goals for 2016 are to become more consistent with my reviews and to read more of my own books. This seems to be a very popular goal, I’ve seen many bloggers share the same goal.

I’ve created a TBR of my current books that I want to read next year, and that is my challenge for next year, since I didn’t join any formal challenges. If you want to keep track of my list and my progress, you can find the link in the menu bar at the top of the page.

Here’s to a great year and really great books!


Books Read in December: 8

Tarnished by Kate Jarvik Burch ~ 4 Stars

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig ~ 5 Stars

Sword And Verse by Kathy MacMillan ~ 5 Stars

Winter by Marissa Meyer ~ 5 Stars

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas ~ 4 Stars

The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski ~ 3 Stars

Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling ~ 4 Stars

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff ~ 5 Stars 

Reviews Posted in December: 0


 Resolutions/Goals Updates

* To see my goals and resolutions post click here. Some of the resolutions/goals were updated earlier in the post so they won’t all be listed here.

Goodreads:

– I have read 140/110 books.

Reviews:

My big 3 month reading slump kinda messed up my progress with reviews, my goal for next year is to be more proactive. Write reviews, or at least drafts, right after I finish a book, and to get better at getting them typed and scheduled. 

Reviews posted this Month: 0

Reviews posted in 2015: 53

Discussion posts:

– Still no progress here.

Comments:

– Still managing to stay somewhat consistent with this one.

Memes:

– Still keeping up with these.

Series:

– I managed to finish 2 series this year: The Unknown Assassin Series (Which I highly recommend) and The Lunar Chronicles Series (Which I also highly recommend.)

Classics:

– Well this one didn’t happen. Maybe next year.

Operation No Soda:

– I did it! I went a whole year without drinking soda. I am so proud of myself, I honestly didn’t think I would make it past the first month. I am definitely going to continue on with this, but shift my focus to drinking more water. That will be my goal for next year.


December Obsessions/Distractions

*These are some of things that took up my attention when I wasn’t reading this month.

What I was listening to…

  • I finally got back into reading mode this month, so I didn’t really listen to a lot of music. I wasn’t listening to anything in particular, but it was mostly country and Christmas music.

What I was watching…

  • To help me get over my obsession with Criminal Minds, I decided to start watching a new show, which I am also now addicted to. The show is The X-Files. I started watching a few days into December and am now up to Season 6, Episode 14.
  • I am still completely obsessed with the Panda Cam. Bei Bei is seriously the cutest baby panda, ever. He’s walking now and it’s absolutely adorable.

What I was doing…

I finally finished my Christmas Afghan, about a week before Christmas. It was a lot of work, but I’m so happy with how it turned out and the person who got it as a Christmas gift absolutely loved it. I’ve included a picture if any of you were wondering what it looked like. If any of you are crocheters and want to make your own blanket for next Christmas, you can find all the information about it here.10557100_10153868126719297_7861438103815578566_o.jpg


A Look Back At 2015

So I’m ending 2015 with 140 books read, which was 30 above my goal of 110. I had some really amazing reading months and then the 3 month slump I just managed to get out of. The last book I read in 2015 was Illuminae and it was an amazing way to end the year. I can’t wait to devour all of the amazing books that await me in 2016.

2015 was my first full year of the blog and a lot has changed in the past year. I’ve made new friends and talked to a lot of new people. I’m looking forward to more of that in the new year. I’m looking forward to making Over The Bookshelf even better in 2016.


Thank you for stopping by and thank you for helping to make 2015 a great year!

I hope you had a good December and a good year.

Here’s to an even better 2016!

Happy Reading!

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up ~ December 2015/ 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy! The afghan is very impressive! All I can do is crochet hats (with a loom!). I really liked The Assassin’s Blade and if you continue the Series, you’ll be glad you read it. There are many references to TAB in the next book. Funny, because it was written after Throne of Glass! Have a great New Years!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I had heard people say that it was a good idea to read The Assassin’s Blade before Queen of Shadows, it probably would be good to read it before Throne of Glass even. I’m planning to start Queen Of Shadows sometime in January.

      Like

  2. I’m so eager to dive into my copy of Illuminae that came earlier this week, but I’m gonna wait until I finish the 4 I’m currently reading before I crack it open. I’m starting my TBR Pile Challenge with a goal of 50, so I’m gonna be reading a lot of older books next year. I hope that you have great New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Happy New Year! I’m definitely planning on reading more of my older books this year. I hope you love Illuminae as much as I did. I loved the format, it worked so well with the story.

      Like

  3. So good you got back your reading mojo. And you went over your goal of books read for the year so well done. I usually write my reviews straight away because once I move onto my next book that becomes my focus.
    Love your crocheted Christmas blanket, absolutely awesome, I used to crochet so I appreciate the work that went into it. All the best for 2016.
    Oh yes and 2016 is the year I want to read the Lunar Chronicles!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

