Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #72 ~ The Trouble With Goodbye

pizap.com14347043495981
*Book Beginnings on Friday hosted by Rose City Reader
*Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are currently reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires. Please remember to include the title of the book and the author’s name.
~
*The Friday 56 hosted by Freda’s Voice
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

 17656767Title:  The Trouble With Goodbye (Fairhope #1)

Author: Sarra Cannon

Goodreads badge add plus

One night can change everything…

Two years ago, Leigh Anne Davis shocked everyone in tiny Fairhope, Georgia when she broke up with her wealthy boyfriend to attend an Ivy League university a thousand miles away. At school, she finds a happiness and independence she’s never known.

Until one terrifying night takes it all away from her.

With no place else to go, Leigh Anne heads home to reclaim her old life. A life she worked so hard to escape. On the outside, she seems like the same girl everyone has always known. But deep inside, she’s hiding a terrible secret.

That’s when she meets Knox Warner, a troubled newcomer to Fairhope. His eyes have the same haunted look she sees every day in the mirror, and when she’s near him, the rest of the world fades away. But being with Knox would mean disappointing everyone all over again. If she wants to save what’s left of her old life, she has no choice but to say goodbye to him forever.

Only, the trouble with goodbye is that sometimes it’s about courage and sometimes it’s about fear. And sometimes you’re too broken to know the difference until it’s too late.


Beginning:

My stomach twists as the sign for Harrison’s Pecan Farm comes into view.

Exactly twelve miles from the house I grew up in and swore I’d never move back to.

Page 54:

“I’m trying to decide if you really aren’t interested or if you’re just trying to protect yourself, ” he says.

His words hit way too close to home and a lump forms in my throat. I swallow it down and take a step back.

I’m not used to people being so direct with me. I’m used to passive aggressive bullshit.

“Maybe it’s you I’m trying to protect,” I say.

Thoughts:

I actually read this one earlier than I planned and while I enjoyed it, I don’t think I would recommend it. There were quite a few times in this book that I found myself wanting punch people and throw things.

The story itself was interesting, and I liked the romance, but there was too much bad stuff for me to really say that I enjoyed it. I probably won’t be reading the other books in the series.


What’s on your reading schedule for this weekend? 

I hope you have a nice weekend.

Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Book Beginnings & The Friday 56 #72 ~ The Trouble With Goodbye

  1. Thank you for your honesty in no recommending this one. I want books that make me feel good. Certainly not ones that make me want to hit people. 😉 I’d love for you to check out mine at tinyurl.com/LisaKsBookReviewsMIC.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

