Top Ten Tuesday #49 ~ Books I Enjoyed From Outside Of My Comfort Zone

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme:

Top Ten Eight Books I Enjoyed Recently That Were Outside Of My Comfort Zone

*These are in no particular order.

outlandergrave mercy

 1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This is a book I decided to read because of hype. This book and the tv show were all over Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook, and a whole bunch of blogs. All of the attention definitely made me curious, and as some of you know by now, I absolutely fell in love with the first  book, and the next 2, and I absolutely adore the TV show.

2. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Like Outlander, Grave Mercy wasn’t really on my radar. I’ve never been a fan of Historical Fiction, but these 2 books have definitely changed my mind.

The Martiannos4a2

3. The Martian by Andy Weir

This is another book I decided to read because everyone was talking about it. If not for all of the hype, I can easily say I wouldn’t have picked this one up on my own, but I’m so glad that I did.

4. NOS4A2 by Joe Hill

This book was my first time reading from this author and this genre of horror, especially adult horror. 

1840418931693

5. Ladies’ Night by Mary Kay Andrews

I’ve never been a big fan of Women’s Fiction, but this was a book that I enjoyed. It’s another book that I probably wouldn’t have read if it hadn’t been recommended to me.

6. Persuasion by Jane Austen

This was one of the last books I read in 2014 and I made it a personal challenge to read a classic in 2015, which I failed to do. I read a YA book that was inspired by Persuasion, so it made me want to read the original.

A SLiver of Starlight17851885

7. A Sliver Of Stardust by Marissa Burt

I’ve never read Middle Grade books before, even when I was in the age range for Middle Grade. I’m glad I requested this one, because I really enjoyed it.

8. I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb

I’ve never been a fan of biography books. I would much rather hear about a person’s life presently, than how they grew up, and in the case of this book, about politics and history. I did enjoy this one though.


Leave a link to your TTT post and I’ll be sure to stop by.

Happy Reading!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #49 ~ Books I Enjoyed From Outside Of My Comfort Zone

  1. A Sliver of Stardust looks so pretty. I really want to read the Joe Hill book, and Outlander. I’m think I’m starting to like Historical Fic a lot more than I thought. They are always so huge though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why haven’t I read The Martian yet? I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I really want to read Pride and Prejudice. I just watched the movie on Netflix, and it’s not nearly as depressing as one of my friends made it out to be. (Which is a poor excuse for not reading a book, I know.) Outlander is super long though, yeah? I want to read it, but the length is so intimidating. Also, NOS4A2 looks interesting from the title and cover alone. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Great post! I loved the array of genres. (Mine kind of swam around in the same three…oops.) (:

    Here’s mine if you’re interested. Top Ten Tuesday

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Martian was really good. I was worried about all of the science in it, but it didn’t really bother me at all, and the movie was fantastic. Pride and Prejudice is one I’ve been trying to get myself to read, I haven’t watched the movie either. NOS4A2 was really interesting, it’s got a lot of pages but it didn’t really read like a big book, it was really interesting and creepy. Outlander is definitely a long book, but once I got past page 40 I was completely hooked and I ended up reading it pretty quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

