Top Ten Tuesday #51 ~ Characters People Love That I Don’t

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme:

Top Ten Characters Everyone Loves, But I Don’t

*These are in no particular order.

shadow and bonecity of bones

 1-2. Mal + The Darkling from Shadow And Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve only read the first book, so far, so my opinion may change, but as of right now, I’m not a big fan of these two.

3-4. Simon and Isabelle from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I don’t know that I have an actual reason for not liking these two, I just don’t.

the lightning thiefA Court Of Thorns and Roses

5. Annabeth from The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I just never really connected with this character.

6. Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I haven’t forgiven him for some of the things he did in this book, not sure if that will change in the next book, or not.

the raven boysharry potter and the sorcerer's stone

7. Gansey from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve only read the first book, so there is a chance this character will grow on me.

8. Snape from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Didn’t really like him from the beginning and it never got any better, for me.

13455782

9-10. Adam + Warner from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Again, I’ve only read the first book, but they both annoyed me for different reasons.


Leave a link to your TTT post and I’ll be sure to stop by.

Happy Reading!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #51 ~ Characters People Love That I Don’t

    • When I read Shatter Me, the 2nd or third book were already out and I kept hearing about how much people loved Warner, and I was reading the 1st book wondering if I was reading the same book as everyone else, because I couldn’t stand him.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I read it last year when all three were out. I ignored the reviews before I read them. Afterwards, I was blown away by the number o people drooling over him. I still don’t get it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t decide between Mal and The Darkling, but I did LOVE the series! Also, Snape is SUCH a good character (for me atleast) and I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like him…

    Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so fun to see what everyone thinks about different characters how some love them and others hate them. I do like Mal, and Simon & Isabelle but I agree 100% Rhysand made my list! I did eventually warm to Snape at the end and re-reading knowing the truth always made him better. I flip flopped about Adam and Warner through the series. Some good picks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this topic because it’s so cool to see how people really feel about certain characters- and how polarizing some are. I remember the Snape is Good or Snape is Evil debates back in the day (I was on the Snape is Good side, but to be honest, I think I felt that way AFTER the first movie, because I loved Alan Rickman’s portrayal of Snape so much… without the movies I probably would have kept disliking him). Mal didn’t do much for me either- although I did find The Darkling interesting, just maybe not a romantic suitor.

    But I can’t agree with you on Gansey, he’s my favorite. 😉 But it’s okay if you don’t like him, that just means one less fangirl competitor for his fictional heart. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I want to love Snape just because of Alan Rickman, but I just can’t. I understand how his character was important to the story though. I definitely don’t understand everyone thinking of the Darkling as a love interest. As I was reading the first book, I was constantly wondering what I was missing that everyone else wasn’t. I’ve heard a lot of people say that Gansey grew on them in the 2nd and third book, so there’s hope there. I haven’t written him off completely.

      Like

  4. I really didn’t like Mal all that much either. Gansey did grow on me as the series went on. Snape ended up being one of my favorite characters from the series, but I can respect you not liking him all that much. Now Adam I ended up not liking at all from the Shatter Me series. He’s on my list this week. But I liked Warner after book 2. However, if you’re not a fan of Snape then you might still not like Warner.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know
    Also, I have a giveaway going on for my 5th Blogoversary.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Sunday Post #11 ~ March 13, 2016 | Over The Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

